The Lunga Wind Quintet

The Lunga Wind Quintet was based quite recently by musicians with long mutual history from other ensembles. The New Ensemble was based on the philosophy of enjoying music making as much as possible and using all the experience of the individual members.

Elina Raijas (flute), Hannu Perttilä (oboe), Olli Leppäniemi (clarinet), Jussi Särkkä (bassoon) and Tero Toivonen (French horn) are top players from four different Finnish orchestras, many also teaching in the Sibelius Academy.

The name of the ensemble may be taken as a hint to ’lungs’, or the long experience of the players (italian lunga), or the Finnish word for taking it easy, ”lunkisti”.